IPL 2023 Auction Date

IPL 2023 Start Date, Host Country, Venue, Auction, Team, Captain What you need to know: The fifteenth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) ended a few nights ago with the debutant franchise, Gujarat Titans (GT) emerging victorious. Gujarat beat Rajasthan by seven wickets in the top-flight to write a name in the history books.

IPL 2022 was one of the most interesting seasons in IPL history. Two new teams, Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants have been added for further competition in the tournament.

While the two new teams maintained their blistering performances throughout the tournament, fan favorites Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians recorded their lowest points. Notably, IPL 2022 became the first season when neither Chennai Super Kings nor Mumbai Indians qualified for the playoffs.

Meanwhile, this IPL edition also saw a new title winner in Gujarat Titans, breaking the five-year long dominance of MI and CSK.

However, all the teams will now shift their focus to the next edition of the league which will be IPL 2023. This article will aim to provide you with all the basic information regarding IPL 2023 start date, host country, venue, auction, teams. , Captain etc

IPL 2023 Start Date:
Although the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has not released any official information so far, it is safe to say that IPL 2023 will be played only in its scheduled window. More than two months from April to May will be reserved for the lucrative Indian Premier League.

IPL 2023 Host Country:

Due to Covid restrictions, the BCCI had to move the IPL out of India in 2020 and 2021, however, the tournament returned to its homeland in 2022. After a long wait of two years, the IPL returned to Indian stadiums with fan presence. .

It would not be wrong to say that IPL feels domestic only when it is held in India with the support of the Indian crowd. The entire IPL 2022 witnessed frenzied scenes as fans flocked in huge numbers to support their favorite teams.

Moreover, IPL moves outside India only in case of emergency. In 2009 and 2014 the BCCI decided to shift the tournament to South Africa and the United Arab Emirates respectively as the dates of the general elections in the country clashed.

This brings us to the conclusion that unless some emergency occurs, IPL 2023 will be held only in India.

IPL 2023 Venue:
Since IPL 2023 will be held in India, a certain number of venues will be used to stage the matches. It is expected that home and away matches will be held this time so that each team can play in front of their home crowd.

Here is the list of teams and their home ground which will be used in the IPL 2022:

Team NameHome Ground
Chennai Super KingsChepauk Stadium, Chennai
Mumbai IndiansWankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Royal Challengers BangaloreM Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangaluru
Rajasthan RoyalsSawai Man Singh Stadium, Rajasthan
Kolkata Knight RidersEden Gardens, Kolkata
Punjab KingsInderjit Singh Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Sunrisers HyderabadRajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, HYD
Delhi CapitalsArun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
Gujarat TitansNarendra Modi Stadium, Gujarat
Lucknow Super GiantsEkana Stadium, Lucknow

IPL 2023 Auction Details:
Unlike IPL 2022, BCCI will conduct a mini-auction for IPL 2023. Franchises will release some players from their 2022 squad and then players will be picked from the auction table by teams as needed, similar to a normal auction process. A franchise

Importantly, there will be no upper cap on player retention. If a franchise wants, they can retain all their previous squads, and if they want they can release as many players as they want.

IPL 2023 Teams and Captains:
10 teams participated in the recently concluded Tata IPL 2022 The next edition of the tournament will also see 10 teams competing for the coveted IPL glory

Below is the list of all teams and their respective captains –

Team NameCaptain (as in IPL 2022)
Chennai Super KingsMS Dhoni
Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
Royal Challengers BangaloreFaf du Plessis
Punjab KingsMayank Agarwal
Rajasthan RoyalsSanju Samson
Delhi CapitalsRishabh Pant
Kolkata Knight RidersShreyas Iyer
Sunrisers HyderabadKane Williamson
Gujarat TitansHardik Pandya
Lucknow Super GiantsKL Rahul

The Indian Premier League (IPL), also officially known as the Tata IPL due to sponsorship, is a professional men’s Twenty20 cricket league, with ten teams competing in seven Indian cities and three Indian states. The league was established in 2007 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It is usually held between March and May every year and has an exclusive window in the ICC Futures Tour programme.

The IPL is the world’s most attended cricket league and in 2014 ranked sixth in terms of average attendance among all sports leagues. In 2010, the IPL became the first sporting event in the world to be broadcast live on YouTube. According to Duff & Phelps, the brand value of the IPL in 2019 was ₹47,500 crore (US$6.2 billion). According to the BCCI, the 2015 IPL season contributed ₹1,150 crore (US$150 million) to the GDP of the Indian economy. The 2020 IPL season set a massive viewership record with 31.57 million average impressions and an overall consumption increase of 23 percent from the 2019 season.

There have been fifteen seasons of the IPL tournament. The current IPL title-winning franchise is Gujarat Titans, winning the 2022 season.

The Indian Cricket League (ICL) was founded in 2007 with funding from G Entertainment Entertainment Entertainment. The ICL was not recognized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) or the International Cricket Council (ICC) and the BCCI was not satisfied with its committee members joining the ICL Executive Board. To prevent players from joining the ICL, the BCCI increased the prize money in their own domestic tournaments and imposed a lifetime ban on players joining the ICL, which was considered by the board to be a rebel league.

Tournament format
Currently, with ten teams, the round-robin format has been scrapped and the league stage has introduced two virtual groups of five as in the 2011 season. After the league stage, the top four teams will qualify for the playoffs. The top two teams in the league stage will play against each other in the first qualifying match, the winner will go directly to the IPL final and the loser will get another chance to qualify for the IPL final by playing the second qualifying match. Meanwhile, the third and fourth placed teams in the league stage will play against each other in an eliminator match and the winner of that match will play the loser from the first qualifying match. The winner of the second qualifying match will advance to the final to play the winner of the first qualifying match in the IPL final match, where the winner will be crowned the Indian Premier League champions.

Player acquisitions, squad formation and salaries
A team can acquire players through any of three methods: the annual player auction, trading players with other teams during the trading window, and signing replacements for unavailable players. Players sign up for the auction and also set their base price and are bought by the franchise that bids the highest for them. Unsold players in the auction are eligible to sign up as replacement signings. During the trading window, a player can only be traded upon his consent, with the franchise paying the difference between the old and new contract. If the new contract is worth more than the old contract, the difference is split between the player and the franchise selling the player. There are usually three trading windows—two before the auction and one after the auction but before the start of the tournament. Players cannot be traded outside of the trading window or during the tournament, whereas replacements can be signed before or during the tournament.

error: Content is protected !!